Welcome to the official home of the South Africa Bass Angling Association. We would like to welcome you to our new site and would also like to thank Rob Fisher and his dedicated team at Always Active Technologies (www.aat.co.za) for creating it.

A quick introduction and what we, at SABAA, are all about. SABAA is the official body for Bass angling in South Africa and is the only body that can award National colours for Bass angling. We consist of 5 Divisions and it is through Divisional trials that an angler qualifies for the National Championships, whereby the top 10 anglers from each Division compete against each other. From these anglers our President and Protea teams are selected as well as the coveted Wrangler Angler. The Wrangler Angler competes in the Bass Federation Nation Championship in the USA annually. The Presidents team compete against the Zimbabwean Presidential team and the venue alternates between South Africa and Zimbabwe. The Protea team competes in the Zone 6 International against Namibia, Zambia, Swaziland and Zimbabwe. A new addition to our calendar is the participation of the top 6 Protea anglers in the World Bass Angling championships.  Each Division comprises of 2 or more Provinces and anglers can qualify for their Provincial teams and earn themselves Provincial colours. The 15 provincial teams compete against each other, in an 8-man team competition. Both our National and Inter-Provincial events are rotated amongst the 5 divisions. Our Junior competitors hold their own Nationals, but qualify much the same way as the Seniors, and are assisted by our very dedicated Junior executive.

Each Divisional President holds a post of Vice President on the SABAA executive. Our current executive consists of Pierre Bosch (SABAA President), Wendy Watson (Secretary/Treasurer), Craig Fraser (Western Division President), Mark Gibson (Eastern Division President), Martin Fereirra (Northern Division President), Kevin Hyem (Southern Division President), Tim Williams (Natal Division President), Barry Grove (Junior President), Mike Milligan (National Sponsorship Co-ordinator)and Albert Olivier (Honourary Executive member).

Werner August Leonard Lingnau is the new South African Largemouth Bass record holder for catching a fine speciman of 6.45kg at Bloemhoek Dam, Kroonstad on the 20 October 2012. Well done August, a prize catch indeed!

The SABAA Nationals 2014 was held at Inanda Dam from the 4 - 9 August 2014, hosted by Natal Division.  Wessie Wessels headed up the organising committee and did an out-standing job, congratulations to you and your team.  The following anglers took top honours:

Guy Paulet - SA Champion 2014

Kieron Samkin - Wrangler Angler 2014

Guy Paulet - Lunker of the Tournament

Adrian Luff - Rookie of the Year

Braam Wahl - Comeback Angler

The following anglers received Protea nominations: Kieron Samkin ; Casper Knoetze ; Craig Fraser ; Darryl Quinton ; Shane Estran ; Marc Bywater ; Justy Varkevisser ; August Lingnau ; Carl Gutzeit ; Gregory Schluep ; Ruan Wahl ; Brendon van Zuydam ; Harold Roberts (Reserve)

The following anglers received President Team nominations: Guy Paulet ; Allan Baker ; Brett Edmunds ; Rudi Dreyer ; Rowan Timmer ; Colin Till ; Carlos Silva ; Wayne Louw ; Braam Wahl ; Richard Eldridge ; Gerrit Nortje ; Alastair Graham ; Glen Naude (Reserve)

Congratulations to you all.

The Zone 6 team fished in Swaziland at Maguga Dam from the 8 - 12 September and won the event by a healthy margin.  The full results are posted on the website and have the overall results as well as the daily standings.  Fishing was extremely tough with not one country landing fish on all their boats throughout the tournament.  Well done SA, we are extremely proud of you!

The Presidents team fished against Zimbabwe at Lake Claw and lost.  Once these results are available they will be published on the website.  Hard luck SA but well done Zimbabwe, always a tough contest between the 2 countries.

Inter-Provincials was held in September from the 19th - 24th September.  This year Natal walked away with top honours.  Natal Coastals won the event, Natal Zululand came second and Natal Midlands third.  Eugene Potgieter from Natal Midlands weighed the heaviest fish and him and his partner, Trevor Brown weighed the heaviest bag.

The World Championships took place in Mexico from the 4th - 9th November at Lake Vicente Guerro, 250 km from Montterey city. The team captained by Kieron Samkin finished 5th overall.  Well done Kieron, Darryl, Craig, Brett, Wayne, Gerrit and Pierre.  Special congratualtions must be given to Swaziland who finished a well deserved 4th!

Japie Botha competed in the Bass Nation Championships and finished 4th in his division.  Japie was a terrific ambassador for the sport and even took to the stage to weigh his fish on the final day in his halloween costume. Japie, very well done from us all at SABAA

The Junior Protea team fished against the Zimbabwe Juniors at Claw Dam, Zimbabwe.  Although they were beat by a healthy margin, the friendships and camaraderie were unbelievable.  Well done Juniors, what wonderful ambassadors for our sport you are.

Mike Milligan has taken up a position of the SABAA Executive and his portfolio is National Sponsorship Co-ordinator.  Welcome Mike!


Click Here to download the report of the 2015 Mercury Amatola Bass Classic

Click Here to download the Newsletter from Natal Division



Entries for the Ladysmith Annual Midmar Two Man Challenge are now open.

Venue: Midmar Dam

Date: 21st and 22nd February 2015


All anglers are welcome


Click here to download the entry form.



Entries for the Mercury Amatola Bass Classic are now open.

Venue: Wriggleswade Dam

Date: 7th and 8th March 2015


All anglers are welcome


Click here to download the entry form.



Entries for the FPS Bass Classic are now open.

Venue: Clanwilliam Dam

Date: 11th October 2014


All anglers are welcome


Click here to download the entry form.



The dates for the 2015 Albert Falls Classic are:

Registration, Friday 28 August

Fishing days - 29 August - 30 August

Entries are for this year's Albert Falls tournament are now open.

Click Here to download the entry form



User Login